How do the Brazilians feel about their country?

Welcome to the website of the Federal Foreign Office

Brazil is a presidential federal republic. It consists of federal, state and local authorities. Legislative power is exercised by the National Congress (Chamber of Deputies and Senate). The 513 MPs are elected for four years and the 81 senators for eight years. The president is elected directly by the people for four years with an absolute majority of the votes.

Brazil is divided into 26 states and the federal district of Brasília. The states have their own constitutions and laws. The heads of state of the states, the governors, are directly elected for four years. The last presidential, gubernatorial and parliamentary elections took place in October 2018.

In the run-up to this, a severe economic crisis and numerous bribery scandals, in which high-ranking politicians were involved, had led to great dissatisfaction among the population. President Jair Bolsonaro has been in power since January 1st, 2019.

Brazil is facing major challenges: The country has been hit very hard by the COVID-19 pandemic. Improvements in environmental and climate protection are still urgently required. A tax reform and reforms of the public service are also pending.


This text represents basic information. It is updated regularly. No guarantee can be given for the correctness and completeness of the information.