What are the rules for football goalkeepers

News view

The rules of the International Football Association Board (IFAB) state that there is an indirect free kick if the goalkeeper controls the ball “with his hand / arm for more than six seconds before releasing it”: but why barely holds it a goalkeeper to this rule?

This is due to the origin of the regulation. During the 1982 World Cup, goalkeepers were allowed to hold the ball in their hands for a very long time and even put it down, only to pick it up again afterwards. In the following years, the IFAB decided to speed up the game and set the six-second rule for it. Without a fixed time, the way of playing would probably not have changed. Today the referees are taught not to interpret this rule so strictly. An indirect free kick in the penalty area should only be imposed if the keeper obviously wants to buy time with his behavior. If he is looking for a point of reference, the six seconds should only serve as a guide.

On the 14th matchday of the 2014/15 season, the TV channel “Sky” measured the time that the goalkeepers spent with the ball in hand. In nine games, 121 actions were recorded in which the goalkeeper had the ball in hand and in a total of 60 actions, the permitted six seconds were exceeded. This meant that an indirect free kick should have been imposed in 50 percent of the cases. Bayern's Manuel Neuer and then Gladbach goalkeeper Yann Sommer were the only ones on this match day who did not break the rule. (yk)

0 Discuss now